What Their Customers Are Saying

?

All testimonials are provided and verified by Drivetime. Verified testimonials on PissedConsumer is a paid feature of the platform.

Purchase the extended warranty

Drivetime
I purchased my car three years ago and added the optional warranty. Although it incresaed the monthly payment it was worth it. I just got a new transmission and axle that was covered. So glad i spent the extra money.
Read

I couldn't ask for a better experience

Drivetime
The salesmen were friendly and courteous. He provided a great buying experience. The best part was it didn't take all day!!! The other associates were great as well. I was greeted at the door and helped immediately. I couldn't ask for a better experience. Tiffany of Fayetteville, NC
Read

Great overall experience

Drivetime
Wow. I have never really taken the time to leave a review for a business, but DRIVETIME definitely deserves my time. Great overall experience. Helped me get into a car that I've been wanting for a very long time! Thanks guys!!! Victor is great! Chris of Cathedral City, CA
Read

Drivetime's reply to: No closed

Thank you for reaching out regarding your experience with DriveTime. We would be happy to address the concerns you have. Please give our Customer Relations Department a call at (888) 290-0148, so that we can help resolve this.
Adrin Hiu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Pleasant Grove, Alabama

No closed

My key fob had to be replaced it fell apart it was old and used harshly when I received it back when I first bought the Chevy Cruze 2013. But now the new key fob will not crank my car It will open the car and trunck but it will not even with the key fob function to crank my car.

I need some help with this new key fob. Thanks a

Drivetime's reply to: Lemon being sold

Thank you for leaving your review. We understand that mechanical concerns are never ideal. All our vehicles go through our inspection process which is backed by a Limited Warranty for mechanical failures within the first 30 days/1,500 miles. We also offer a 5-day Vehicle Return Policy, that allows our customers the opportunity to inspect and get comfortable with their purchase. If you have additional questions, please call our Customer Relations Department at (888) 290-0148.
Anonymous
map-marker Atlanta, Georgia

Lemon being sold

Sold my God son a car with a blown head gasket car almost caught on fire .have a hard time getting them to give us another car instead they keep trying to fix it been in the shop for four month they place a new motor still not fix pro touch auto so we paying for a car we cannot even drive a lemon drive time is a rip off most of they cars come from rental company

User's recommendation: Bad deals make sure you look over enspect every thing

Drivetime's reply to: Truck I bought dose not move

Thank you for leaving your review, Tom. We understand that mechanical concerns are never ideal. All our vehicles go through our inspection process which is backed by a Limited Warranty for mechanical failures within the first 30-days/1,500-miles. We also offer a 5-day Vehicle Return Policy, that allows our customers the opportunity to inspect and get comfortable with their purchase. If you have additional questions, please send us a DM or call our Customer Relations Department at (888) 290-0148.
Tom B Abe

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Tampa, Florida

Truck I bought dose not move

I bought the truck two weeks after I started having problems with truck shifting, took in to place to get checked out.was told Ford problem.took to Ford was told 2 -4 weeks before part would be in 4 weeks passed by .and was told would have to keep waiting maybe 6 months!! Mean while truck just sitting in driveway. Can't drive it but still have to pay for

Drivetime's reply to: Horrible first time experience

Hello Trenicia,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced a mechanical concern soon after your purchase and if you were unable to take advantage of our Vehicle Return Policy.
We understand that mechanical concerns are never ideal. It's important to keep in mind that all our pre-owned vehicles are inspected before placing them on our lots. While they go through an inspection, we are unable to predict when future repairs may be needed. For this reason, we provide a Limited Warranty (LW) for mechanical failures within the first 30-days/1,500-miles. We also have an optional Vehicle Service Contract (VSC) to assist in most situations there-after.
As mentioned in your review, we offer a 5-day Vehicle Return Policy (VRP), which allows our customers the opportunity to inspect and get comfortable with their purchase. If they are not pleased with their vehicle, they can bring it back within the first 5-business days (not including the date of sale, holidays we are closed, and Sundays). If a customer experiences mechanical concerns during the VRP, they would need to decide if they would like to have the vehicle diagnosed and go through the warranty process or if they rather take advantage of the VRP.
We certainly appreciate your feedback and apologize once again for any inconvenience this caused. Please reach out to our Customer Relations department at (888) 290-0148, should you have any questions.
Respectfully,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Trenicia B

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Memphis, Tennessee

Horrible first time experience

I have only had the car for 2 of the 5 days that I am allotted until I can swap it for something else. The car was in 2 different shops on the other 2 days, which has kept me from being able to use it or return it in a timely manner.

Here we are on the 5th day and The weather is horrible: freezing rain ALL day. It is absolutely too risky to try to drive 20 miles away to return a car. I was told by the store manager that I absolutely had to bring it there today in order to be able to swap it out regardless of the weather. This is extremely frustrating and unacceptable that I would be required to risk my life and the car.

Is there anyone in corporate who can bypass this 5 day thing for this instance? I havent even driven 100 miles in the car and I definitely dont plan on driving it anywhere today or tomorrow with the freezing rain and the ice storm advisory because I dont want damage the car or anyone else to damage the car.

Loss:
$24000
Cons:
  • That they take advantage of you
  • Given the runaround

Preferred solution: I would like the 5 day return policy extended on my behalf due to a situation that is out of my control.

User's recommendation: Make this place your very last option.

Drivetime's reply to: False advertisment

Hello,
Thank you for submitting a review and sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize if you are feeling misled by the approval options offered through our website. I want to assure you that we make our best effort to provide our customers with a clear set of expectations going into the approval process.
However, it’s important for you to know that these decisions are real approvals and are not guaranteed. Any approval offers are dependent on the customer documentation provided directly to the dealership, such as proof of income, proof of residence, credit score, and the desired vehicle also plays a factor. Once the vehicle is selected our sales team will be able to confirm your approval options. Our potential customers also have the option to use outside financing if they find a vehicle that they are interested in.
I appreciate you taking the opportunity to share your experience, and I apologize once more for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact our Customer Relations Department directly at (888) 290-0148.
Kindly,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Anonymous
map-marker Lewisville, Texas

False advertisment

yea the whole get your down payment and car payment on the online application its *** numbers so don't waste your time it told me on a truck $395 down and $194 ever 2 weeks payment so I called to verify the numbers needless to say those are false numbers dude told me $11,000 down yea right so completely false advertisement not what the commercial says i recommend go some were ealse don't believe the hype

Drivetime's reply to: Vehicle would not start same day I got it and went home

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are truly sorry you experienced a mechanical concern just after your purchase.
We do understand how valuable everyone’s time is, and mechanical concerns are never ideal. I want to assure you that we do our best to try and prevent our customers from having any mechanical worry. It is important to keep in mind, all the vehicles we sell are pre-owned and some vehicles may show more wear than others. While our vehicles are inspected prior to placing them on our lots, we are unable to predict when future repairs may be needed. It is for this reason that DriveTime provides a Limited Warranty (LW) for mechanical failures within the first 30-days/1,500-miles, at no cost to our customers. Should the vehicle have a mechanical failure or fall below the safety guidelines from inspection. Any time a customer may be experiencing a mechanical issue after purchase we would encourage them to contact our warranty provider, SilverRock, for the next steps aimed to resolve our customer's concerns.
In addition to the Limited Warranty these services, as you indicated we do offer a 5-day Vehicle Return Policy (VRP) which allows time for any customer to inspect and get comfortable with their purchase. If they are not pleased with their vehicle, they can bring it back within the first 5 business days or 300 miles (not including the date of sale, holidays we are closed, and Sundays).
We certainly appreciate all feedback and thank you again for sharing yours. Please accept our apologies for any dissatisfaction you may hold with DriveTime. Please feel free to reach out to our corporate Customer Relations department at (888) 290-0148 and a member of our team will be glad to answer any questions you may have.
Respectfully,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Anonymous
map-marker Chevy Chase, Maryland

Vehicle would not start same day I got it and went home

Purchased 2016 jeep compass on 12/4/2021 from Drivetime

Test drove vehicle and it was fine so I sign the paperwork and went home 18 miles from dealership.

Got home parked car for a few minute and when I got back In car it wouldn't start.

Called the store and car would not start while on phone the person who handled my account wanted me to either take car I bought 1 before to a repair shop or to bring vehicle back to them and pick another one but I had to do it in first 5 days

So far not happy this happened as dealership was closing on a Saturday and they are closed on Sunday I will have 2 loose a days pay to rectify

Drivetime's reply to: Car problems

Hello Lavelle,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We greatly apologize for the engine concern you experienced with your vehicle.
We understand that mechanical concerns are never ideal. It's important to keep in mind that all our vehicles are pre-owned and inspected before placing them on our lots. While they go through an inspection, we are unable to predict when future repairs may be needed. For this reason, we provide a Limited Warranty (LW) for mechanical failures within the first 30-days/1,500-miles. We also have an optional Vehicle Service Contract (VSC) to assist in most situations there-after. We would like to mention that our Limited Warranty and Vehicle Service Contract covers engine repairs when the failure is confirmed.
In addition to these coverages, we offer a 5-day Vehicle Return Policy (VRP), which allows our customers the opportunity to inspect and get comfortable with their purchase. If they are not pleased with their vehicle, they can bring it back within the first 5-business days (not including the date of sale, holidays we are closed, and Sundays).
We certainly appreciate your feedback and apologize once again for any inconvenience this caused. Please reach out to our Customer Relations department at (888) 290-0148, should you have any questions.
Respectfully,
DriveTime Customer Relations
lavelle w Ggx

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Eastpointe, Michigan

Car problems

I haven't had the car not even a year yet and my engine is gone out the car. I have never heard of a engine going out in a matter of months.

Loss:
$1200

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

Drivetime's reply to: Deception- Fraud

Hello Julie,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and bringing this to our attention. We deeply apologize for your overall experience with DriveTime and our finance partner Bridgecrest thus far. We are disheartened to know you are feeling misled.
Please know that one of our goals as a company is to be transparent with all of our customers and make our best effort to structure each customer's contract with terms that fit their individual financial needs. At the time of sale, we provide a Federal Truth in Lending Disclosure, which shows a breakdown of the loan details, which details the total sales price, the number of payments, interest rate, etc. It is also important to mention that our customers are welcome to acquire outside financing when purchasing a vehicle from our lot and are not required to utilize our in-house financing partner, Bridgecrest.
Please know all our vehicles are mechanically inspected prior to the sale in an effort to prevent situations of mechanical concerns. While they do go through an initial inspection to ensure that it meets our standards, there are some instances in which mechanical malfunctions may occur post-sale. We are unable to determine when components will fail. For this reason, each of our vehicles includes the initial 30-day/1,500-mile Limited Warranty to ease the potential impact on our customers. We also offer an optional Vehicle Service Contract for additional peace of mind.
In reference to the spare tire, not all automobiles have a spare tire included. DriveTime includes an inflation kit for good measure if the vehicle was not equipped with a spare tire after we took ownership of the vehicle.
We also offer a 5-day Vehicle Return Policy (VRP), which allows our customers time to inspect and get comfortable with their purchase. If they are not pleased with their vehicle or finance terms, the vehicle can be returned within the first 5-business days (not including the date of sale, holidays we are closed, and Sundays).
Lastly, while purchasing the ancillary products offered at the time of sale is always encouraged due to the safety net they provide in various situations, we make it a point to ensure complete transparency when it comes to our optional add-ons. One of which ways that we strive to accomplish this goal is by providing an optional product disclosure at the time of sale for our customers to sign. This disclosure details all the optional items available and is designed to aid our customers in distinguishing from those that are mandatory.
That said, we want to apologize again for your experience and the mechanical concerns you experienced. Should you have any questions regarding this information, please contact us at (888) 290-0148, and a representative will be glad to assist. I would also encourage you to contact Bridgecrest, our loan servicing provider, at (800) 967-8526, where a representative can further assist you with any concerns you have regarding your loan.
Respectfully,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Julie S Eqv
map-marker Franklin, Ohio

Deception- Fraud

This is organized crime in my opinion, and the people involved should be charged for all of the money they have stolen and all of the pain and stress they have caused. I bought a 2015 Veloster from drive time west Columbus, Ohio Location and put $1400 down On 10/13/21.

The female that sold it to me did most of the paperwork on her computer and transferred everything to a notebook/ ipad that I had to sign everything on. Which only showed my signature or initials.. She asked me to run out and get mileage off car (which she should've got when we did the walk around) at which time I pointed out that every wheel/rim was severely Scuffed

/scratched and she said "that's just cosmetic" also there was no spare tire, just fix a flat. So when I stood up to get mileage, she said "forget it, I got it".

I didn't know she was taking mileage from last title change. So my warranty was pretty much void before I ever left the lot. And they said due to their insurance I could only test drive the car around the block. The top speed is 35 mph so you can't really tell if there is any handling, steering problems, etc...

So on the first day I noticed there was a bad shaking in the wheel at about 60 mph and at a certain point you moved the steering wheel, and it was catching or hanging up. I was told they had a garage right down the road and if anything needed done I had 30 days to have it fixed. When I called in on Monday, they said my 5 days was up on Saturday. So, after getting nowhere with the dealership I called silver rock (supposedly who the warranty is through and I found out later they charged me $3600 for an extended warranty that was never even mentioned) and explained I did not feel safe driving the car.

So she sends me to one of their preferred shops on 10/19/21. Tire choice auto service. They did the estimate and submitted it and it got denied. I called Silver Rock and they said they did deny it but they wanted the shop to send pictures and they would reconsider.

I took the car back to tire choice and was told I was the 4th person from that dealership within a week and that they denied every single claim and that their mechanics worked on a commission and did not want to do anymore free work. So I called Silver Rock back and was told to take it to Aamco on N. High st. This is 2nd day of work missed.

So they tell me I have to bring it back at 9 am the next day and leave it. Well I knew that would be impossible but figured I would deal with it then. So when I took it in they was reluctant to letting me sit in the waiting room while they was doing the estimate. So when they was done the woman told me it needed a tie rod and that one of the rims was bent.

And when I asked them if they could submit a copy of the estimate, she said that would be an additional charge along with the $50 for the estimate. I said I'm not paying nothing, silver rock sent me here, get it from them. This woman tries to take my keys back. I'm in a state of shock at this point.

And I do believe if there had not been witnesses there, these 2 women at the Aamco on N. High St. in Columbus Ohio would have forcefully taken my keys. So, I ended up getting another shop to look at it that a friend referred me to.

I told them I couldn't afford a lot so they ended up putting a mismatched rim on the car. But it did stop a lot of the shaking. And they adjusted the toe in/ toe out due to the tires going in the opposite direction. I ended up making a payment on the car.

But I had to have drive time removed from my bank acct because they tried to take payment early. So when the the next payment was due $257.00 every 2 weeks, I parked the car and within 3 days of missing a payment they came and took the car. What this place is getting away with is unreal. And the fact that these people are getting away with it is unacceptable.

I know people that are in jail for far less crimes than what these people are doing. One more thing, they ended up charging me like $28, 000.00 for a car that sold new for $15, 000.00 and was 7 yrs old.

Loss:
$3000

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don't deal with these people

Drivetime's reply to: Complaint

Hello Wanda,
Thank you for sharing your review with us and taking interest in purchasing through DriveTime. I am sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with the required down payment for the vehicle you selected and if you felt misled in any way.
When you arrive at the dealership, our sales team will verify the information submitted online to ensure accuracy. Additionally, your down payment requirements are also subject to change based on several factors, including the vehicle you select. It is also important to mention that our customers are welcome to utilize third-party financing if they are not satisfied with the financing options offered through Bridgecrest, our finance partner.
That said, I apologize for your disappointment regarding the approval options that were presented to you. Should you wish to discuss your review in more detail, please contact our Customer Relations department at (888) 290-0148, and a representative will be glad to further assist.
Kindly,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Wanda R Vhb

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Complaint

Drivetime - Complaint

I picked out a vehicle, pre-authorized, reserve the car, at Drive Time Pelham Alabama. 2016 Nissan maxima Platinum 41,000 miles, $20000.

a $200 down payment preapproval an reserved the car.

The salesman informs me this morning I will have to pay a minimum of $5000 down on that particular car. Which is ridiculous were not talking about a Corvette were talking about a Nissan 5 years old car

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Drivetime's reply to: Fraudulent misleading salesperson

Hello William,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am disheartened to hear your impression of DriveTime’s integrity has been compromised. We can certainly understand how disappointing this must have been and extend my deepest apologies if you felt mislead in any way.
It is important to us that each customer feels valued and respected while interacting with our staff, and I am sorry that you left our dealership feeling otherwise. This certainly is not indicative of the high-quality customer service standards we strive to provide. We welcome the opportunity to address any situation where our service level or communication is not being maintained at or above our business standards.
It’s our goal as a company to be upfront and honest through all steps of the buying process. We believe in transparency and show all the pricing details. I truly apologize if you are unhappy with the interest rate presented by Bridgecrest, our loan servicing partner. Please know the interest rate offered during your contracting process was based on the required documentation given to us, along with your current credit score. Sometimes the Annual Percentage Rate (APR) proposed may be higher than expected when working with credit that is less than perfect. We supply a Federal Truth in Lending Disclosure during the contracting process. This disclosure details the APR finance charge, amount financed, total amount expected to be paid throughout the life of the loan, as well as the total sales price. It may be worth mentioning that we do accept outside financing if our customers are dissatisfied with their approval terms.
Should you not be satisfied with your purchase for any reason, every vehicle sold from DriveTime comes with a 5-day/300-mile Vehicle Return Program (VRP). The VRP gives our customer the ability to return the vehicle and terminate the Simple Interest Detail Installment Contract. The guidelines are outlined on page one of your Retail Purchase Agreement.
Should you have any questions pertaining to the interest you will be paying on your vehicle, please contact Bridgecrest, your loan servicing provider, at (800) 967-8526 and a representative would be glad to further assist. We truly appreciate all feedback and will be using this where training and coaching opportunities are needed. You may also contact my department directly at (800) 965-8043 should you wish to discuss your review in further detail.
Regards,
DriveTime Customer Relations
William D Vjy
map-marker Anderson, Ohio

Fraudulent misleading salesperson

Updated by user Feb 22, 2021

No results as to this date, I am filing complaints with other agency's that protect the rights of older citizens and any consumer.

Original review Feb 22, 2021

I am not sure how others were treated, but my own experience was very disturbing. First, Jon E was very misleading he switched the vehicle and prorate the price of the car I originally agreed to purchase, suddenly disappeared, and I was offered another vehicle at a high price.

As a courtesy, they would prorate the amount to match the cost of the original vehicle. Which he lied about there was no prorate, what started as an 11,000 dollar ( which was conveyed in Jon's office) ended up being a 19,000 loan with 13,000 dollars of interest added on. When it came time to sign the contract, Jon was ready to get out of there for the day.

My father and I sat with Jon to go over the contract before signing. My view of the contract on the computer was not available, it was late, it had been a long day, butt Jon assured me that he would read the contract out loud to me, and my father and that we could trust him it was what we had discussed so we agreed that I could trust him.

Never would I have agreed to pay 32,000 total for a used 2008 Sante Fe. Regardless of how badly I needed a car. There were other dealerships available but DriveTime made it seem simple and the quoted price was in the range I wanted to stay in. So I did not see the contract, until after I left the dealership.

My father and listened as Jon went over the contract that we had discussed prior to going to his office, but when I received the contract (after Jon had printed it out) he had put it into an envelope and handed it to me and basically rushed us out the door. At the time I believed there was no reason to go over the contract again he seemed so trustworthy. Also, Jon was pushing the issue of how late it was, and he needed to close up the shop. So I trusted him.

When I got home I went over the contract, and it was not what I agreed to. I tried to repeatedly contact Drivetime and was not able to talk to anyone until the following Monday. I was told on the phone several days later when they returned my call that you signed it so there was nothing I could do. I tried to cancel the contract because I read I had 5 days to do that.

The person at drive time said it was past the 5 days. I had to make the payments there was nothing else I felt I could do. So here it is 4 years later, I have paid $17,000 in interest and principal for a 2008 Sante Fe (I have paid 7500 on the principle) So I called today to get a pay off amount. I was told I owed another 10,000 dollars.

Taking the total cost for a 2008 used Sante Fe 32,000.00 I spoke to Drive times lender Bridgecrest who said that is the amount I have to pay, or I can continue to make payments of 199.00 every other week.. This is wrong it was misleading and fraudulent to take advantage of an older person. I have filed complaints with the OHIO Attorney General, the Ohio Consumer affairs, Kentucky Attorney General and the Federal Consumer affairs for bait and switch, fraudulent activity in connection with the contract that was not made available during the sale.

Also for misleading and changing the contract that did not even have the correct home address listed.

Make certain to read before you walk out they are not to be trusted, and in a couple of years call them and check on the principle that you have been paying on. They took full advantage of me and I signed the contract but the lies and the misleading me is on them.

Preferred solution: All I want to do is pay the remainder of the principle of the loan. I have a recorded conversation with two of Bridgcrests employees that said I had paid 7500 on the principle which should have only been 11,000 (including taxes) I feel I only owe you 3500

User's recommendation: Do not buy from this dealership or take an attorney to discuss any contract

Drivetime's reply to: I am way beyond upset!

Hello Ebony,
Thank you for providing your review. I truly am sorry to hear of the mechanical concerns that you experienced so soon after leaving our dealership, in addition to the cosmetic concerns as mentioned in your review.
Please know that every one of our pre-owned vehicles goes through an initial inspection to make sure that our quality standards are met. However, there are some instances in which mechanical concerns may appear after the sale. For this reason, we provide a Limited Warranty that offers coverage within the first 30-days of sale or 1,500-miles driven, whichever comes first. In addition, a Vehicle Service Contract is also offered through SilverRock as an optional product at the time of sale, to assist in most situations after that. This does not cover maintenance or cosmetic items, and if repairs happen to be non-covered, they would be considered a cost of ownership.
We want our customers to feel confident and reassured with their vehicles, which is why every vehicle comes with a Vehicle Return Program (VRP). This allows our customers the capability to fully inspect the vehicle and get comfortable with their purchase. It also gives our customers the ability to return the vehicle for any reason within the first 5 business calendar days, or 300 miles driven. The guidelines for this program are outlined on page one of your Retail Purchase Agreement.
I am sorry to hear you have lost faith in our company, and we will be using your feedback to help improve our inspections at our centers. Should you wish to discuss your review in further detail, please contact my department at (888) 290-0148, and a representative will be glad to assist.
Respectfully,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Ebony K Nor
map-marker Fresno, California

I am way beyond upset!

I bought my car from DriveTime here in Fresno Ca. A shiny black Dodge 2014 Journey.

First time buying. Let's skip to the best. After purchasing it, 10 days later, just about all the lights came on. The battery went dead.

I had to pay $160 for a battery. They kept my car for 2 days at Pep boys. After that I took my car in for a hand wash. The car had all types of scratches.

The interior had white blotches on the dashboard. It wasn't there before, a marker was used to disguise the white blotches. The seats had scratches and holes. The leather seats had puttied on them.

Had to replace the brakes. The brakes were bad. It was being held by wires. What else?

Had to replace all the tires. They were worn inside having to get a wheel alignment that quick. The seal that wraps around the windshield is gone and the water hose for the windshield wipers is messed up. Oh, and plus the driver side window is messed up.

I have to fix it. One year later, the car has electrical problems.

$10,000 for the SUV. I still owe $17,00.

NEVER AGAIN!!!

THE EMPLOYEES ARE NICE BUT AS SOON AS YOUR DAYS ARE OVER. THEIR THRU WITH YOU.

Loss:
$500

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: BUY AT YOUR OWN RISK! LOOK AT EVERY DETAIL THERE IS!

Drivetime's reply to: Car won’t start bought 29 days ago

Hello,
Thank you for submitting a review. I sincerely apologize for the concerns your daughter has been experiencing with her vehicle, in addition to the inconvenience this is causing.
If the GPS device itself needs replacing, that would be something that the GPS company, Spireon, would need to help address. Spireon can be reached at (877) 563-0012. Should there be other mechanical concerns with the vehicle, then your daughter would go through the claim process with SilverRock, our warranty partner. SilverRock can be reached at (877) 584-3848.
I apologize once again that she hasn’t received a resolution as of yet for her vehicle concerns. I would recommend your daughter contact our Customer Relations department at (888)290-0148 to look further into her situation and see if there is any assistance we may be able to provide.
Respectfully,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Anonymous
map-marker Smyrna, Georgia

Car won’t start bought 29 days ago

It is now say 7 with no resolution or repair of vehicle! Determined that the issue initiated with an after market gps installed by Drivetime The car has now been towed for the second time to yet a second service center.

No one at the dealership - the warranty facility - the gps people - NO ONE is helpful they just push you off to the next person .... this has been a nightmare. Car purchased in Huntsville Alabama which is managed by Carlos and Mike- what a joke that is!!! Car was bought for my daughter who is in college in Nashville Tennessee - who has had to get transportation via Lyft back and forth to school adding an additional expense of $150 per week with no chance of reimbursement!!!

Silver Rock warranty company is a scam! The whole entire process has nothing to do with customer service - its a rip off from start to finish!!!

User's recommendation: Drive right past Drivetime to the next dealership

Drivetime's reply to: Very Dissatisfied Customer

Hello Lisa,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are truly sorry to hear you experienced mechanical concerns two months after purchase. We understand that mechanical concerns are never ideal and can be stressful at times.
It's important to keep in mind that all our vehicles are pre-owned. While our vehicles are inspected to ease the potential impact on our valued customers, we are unable to predict when future repairs may be needed. For this reason, we provide a Limited Warranty (LW) for mechanical failures within the first 30-days/1,500-miles. We also have an optional Vehicle Service Contract (VSC) to assist in most situations after the Limited Warranty expires. In order for SilverRock to process a claim, the Repair Facility would need to contact SilverRock directly to initiate a claim.
Furthermore, the coverages we offer include Rental Reimbursement for every 8 hours of labor at a daily rate of $30/day up to $300 per breakdown on Covered Components.
We certainly appreciate your feedback and apologize once again for any inconvenience this caused. Please reach out to our Customer Relations department at (888) 290-0148 to continue working towards an amicable resolution.
Respectfully,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Lisa S Nzj
map-marker Stone Mountain, Georgia

Very Dissatisfied Customer

Purchased car on September 3, 2020. I paid for extended warranty and in case of anything happening I would get a rental.

I didnt have my car for 2 months and it broke down. Transmission and motor went out while driving on the Atlanta highway ( if you are from Atlanta you know the traffic). These words far as the motor and transmission came from the mouth of the mechanics. Although the car had not been pulled into the garage, but he could tell by the sound and by driving the vehicle.

Now, Im paying for a rental through my extended warranty, but I couldnt get a rental until until the car was diagnosed with a claim number. The car has not been given a claim number and its been over a week without a rental. So I guess I have to walk to were I need to go. Needless to say Im pissed beyond words.

Of course I cant give the car back because its been over the 5 day allowance for returns. I guess I should have known it would break down before 2 months. This situation is Wtf.

DONT BUY FROM DRIVETIME!!!!!!!. I have spoken to Customer Relations and was told I should reach out to the automotive shop as far as a claim number, so what is Customer Relations job?

Loss:
$2858

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don’t buy from Drivetime

Drivetime's reply to: They will not work in my situation

Hello Daisy,
Thank you for reaching out to us. I can certainly understand your frustration in regards to your overall experience as you mentioned in your review.
Please know that upon arrival, our sales team will collect the required documentation such as proof of residency, proof of income, along with any valid driver’s license. Also, please know that DriveTime does not get involved with any civil matters between any two parties.
Regarding your final purchase price, our goal is to be upfront with our customers, which is why during contracting, we provide a detailed Federal Truth in Lending Disclosure at that time our sales staff will also review the breakdowns with you. This document gives you your interest rate, finance charge, total amount financed, total amount expected to be paid during the life of your loan, and the total sales price.
With that being said, I can certainly understand your disappointment and I hope you have not lost faith in our company. We appreciate your feedback and will be using this where coaching and training opportunities are essential. Should you wish to discuss your overall encounter in further detail, please contact my department at (888) 290-0148 and a representative will be glad to assist.
Kindly,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Daisy P Fjv

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

They will not work in my situation

They are convenient when they want to be! They placed a co owner in a car I purchased and he has non active license along with a negative driving record yet drive time failed to investigate beforehand ..

now he is not willing to even sign over for the car , has no communication with the dealership. All I want to do is get a different vehicle and the worst part is I have two vehicles through them ...

the cars are older and your paying way too much for them

As far as myself and the ex co owner , he and I are going through legal issues and Drivetime doesnt want to get involved, however they placed a person with no license as a co owner to vehicle that he took without permission and was involved in a car accident with..

Drivetime was quick to call for a total loss for the truck without proper documentation and follow up!! In my opinion this is unprofessional and unacceptable!!!

Loss:
$2000

Preferred solution: Get rid of the ve hike I am referring to and get another that I can pay myself

User's recommendation: Don’t deal with Drivetime at all

Drivetime's reply to: Poor Communication / Unhelpful Staff

Hello Justin,
Thank you for providing your review. I am sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction in regards to the interest rate that was presented to you during our sales process, in addition to the registration process.
It is our goal as a company to be transparent through all steps of the buying process and we want all our customers to know of their option to use outside financing, if they feel our loan servicing terms do not meet their needs or budget. With that being said, Please understand that DriveTime and Bridgecrest (our loan servicing company) specialize in working with customers with less than perfect credit. This means the Annual Percentage Rate (APR) offered may be higher than expected. For this reason, we do provide a Federal Truth in Lending Disclosure during the contracting process. This disclosure details the APR, finance charge, amount financed, total amount expected to be paid throughout the life of the loan, as well as the total sales price.
Regarding your registration, I apologize for any inconvenience or confusion that this has caused. It is important to know that our sales team does their best to make sure they are properly educating our customers on the registration process.
Thank you again, for your review and we apologize again for any frustration this may have caused you. Should you have any other questions, please feel free to contact my department directly at (800) 965-8043.
Respectfully,
DriveTime Customer Relations
Justin F Vxm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Maryland City, Maryland

Poor Communication / Unhelpful Staff

They charge you an arm and a leg, charge you outrageous interest rates, and then expect you to waste your time at the MVA getting tags.

The process isn't even clear. The MVA seems confused as to how I even came from a dealer, purchasing a vehicle without metal tags.

Don't buy from here, they are not honest, and are not helpful.

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: Buy from a Reputable Dealer that knows what they are doing

Contact Information

Website:
www.drivetime.com
Mailing Address:
1720 W. Rio Salado Pkwy Tempe
Tempe, Arizona 85281
United States
Phone:
(888) 418-1212
Contact Drivetime Customer Service

Latest Question

My truck was repo n now my ex wife wants the truck back I don't want her to get the truck back. We are going thur a divorce n I don't want her to get the truck back the truck was repo back last year I just don't want her to get...

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article